Your Shield Against the State
Plano Assault Lawyer
Defending Clients Facing Assault Charges in Collin County
Arguments between two or more people are common, but when the altercation turns threatening or physical, you could face assault charges. Assault charges carry serious penalties and can permanently harm your reputation. Following an assault arrest, get the help you need by contacting Lanzillo Law, PLLC, in Plano.
I am an experienced criminal defense attorney Johnny Lanzillo, and I understand what it means to face such serious consequences. I will work with you to build a defense that focuses on what is most important to you. I will develop a strategy and approach committed to helping you protect your rights.
Assault in Texas
Under the Texas Penal Code, you are guilty of committing assault if you:
- Intentionally or recklessly cause bodily injury to another
- Threaten someone with imminent bodily injury
- Intentionally cause physical contact with another person when you know, or should know, the person will regard the contact as offensive or provocative
What is Aggravated Assault in Texas?
Aggravated or felony assault occurs if:
- You cause a serious bodily injury.
- You choke or cut off the airways of a person.
- You have a prior conviction or deferred adjudication with an affirmative finding of family violence.
- You use a weapon to commit the assault.
As noted, you can face criminal assault charges for invoking a fear of imminent harm even if you never physically touched the alleged victim. When the assault is against a family or household member, or a past or current significant other you will face family violence charges.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Texas?
The penalties for assault in Texas vary depending on the severity of the incident and the individual’s criminal history. For misdemeanors, individuals may be punished with a maximum sentence of one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $4,000. In cases involving felonies, penalties can range from two to twenty years of imprisonment and fines up to $10,000. Depending on the circumstances, a court may also order additional consequences such as community service and counseling.
No-Contact Orders in Texas
Following an allegation of domestic violence, the court may issue a no-contact order prohibiting you from contacting the alleged victim. Unfortunately, no-contact orders can prevent you from seeing your children or returning home. If you violate an order, you may be considered in contempt of court and charged with a misdemeanor. Felony charges may apply if you were previously convicted of violating a no-contact order.
Contact Our Plano Assault Attorney Today
Assault charges in Texas can have serious and long-lasting consequences, ranging from a fine to a lengthy prison sentence. To protect your rights and ensure an optimal outcome, it is essential to secure experienced legal representation as soon as possible if you are facing assault charges. With our Plano assault lawyer, you can ensure your case is handled properly and with the best possible result.
Contact Lanzillo Law, PLLC, today to schedule a FREE consultation with our assault Lawyer in Plano!