Underage DWI

Your Shield Against the State

Plano Underage DWI Lawyer

Arrested for Drunk Driving in Texas?

Since anyone under 21 years of age cannot legally consume and purchase alcohol, driving with any detectable amount of alcohol can result in harsh DWI penalties. Additionally, if you are caught driving with a BAC over .08%, you could face more serious consequences, including fines, jail time, license suspension, and more.

At Lanzillo Law, PLLC, our Plano underage DWI lawyer can help you fight your charges. Attorney Lanzillo knows how the prosecution will build its case against you. He can use this knowledge to help you get the best possible outcome in your case.

Schedule your free initial consultation with our Plano underage DWI lawyer today. Call (972) 645-4753 or contact us online today.

Texas Drunk Driving Laws for Minors

Underage DWI is treated as a separate offense from regular DWI and carries its own set of penalties. In Texas, there are two key laws that govern underage DWI: the "zero tolerance" law and the "minor DUI" law.

Texas operates under a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. According to this law, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any detectable amount of alcohol in their system. This means that even a small amount of alcohol can lead to a violation.

On the other hand, if an underage individual between 17 and 20 years old is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, they can be charged with regular DWI. This means that they can face criminal penalties as if they were an adult.

What are the Penalties for Underage DWI in Texas?

Underage DWI is a Class C misdemeanor in Texas. The penalties for a first offense can include a fine of up to $500, license suspension that can last for up to 60 days, mandatory attendance at an alcohol awareness course, community service, and probation. Additionally, the court may require the installation of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle operated by the individual.

If an underage driver's BAC is at least .08%, a conviction carries a fine of up to $2,000, a jail term of up to 180 days, or both.

Let Our Firm Protect Your Rights & Future

Not only can a conviction result in serious penalties, but it can negatively impact your employment prospects, academic standing, and other aspects of your life. Do not hesitate to let Lanzillo Law defend you from start to finish.

Contact us today at (972) 645-4753 to schedule a free consultation.


  • Avvo 10.0
  • National College for DUI Defense
  • Dallas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • 10 Best Attorney Client Satisfaction - DUI/DUI Defense Attorneys
  • Super Lawyers
  • 3CDLA
  • Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • National Trial Lawyers Top 40 Under 40
  • Collin County Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
  • National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers 2022
  • Super Lawyers 2020
  • Super Lawyers 2021
  • Best Litigation Attorney in Plano by Expertise.com
  • Super Lawyer up and coming 100
  • John Lanzillo 2023 Super Lawyer
  • John Lanzillo Rising Star
  • Justia 10.0 Lawyer rating