Your Shield Against the State
Multiple DWI Defense Lawyer in Plano
An Extensively Experienced Defense Attorney Willing to Fight for You in Trial in Dallas & Collin County
Driving under the influence is one of the more common criminal charges, and the consequences can rack up if you have a record of DWI offenses. Lanzillo Law, PLLC has handled many DWI cases. Attorney Lanzillo is dedicated to helping drivers combat harsh charges and penalties. He has been committed to the side of the defendant throughout his entire professional career, only ever working as a defense lawyer. He will put up a passionate defense for you and build a strong case to argue for mitigated or dismissed charges if you are facing accusations for a subsequent DWI offense.
Schedule a free consultation with Lanzillo Law, PLLC for more information on your defense options. Don’t let your criminal history deter you from a future of freedom.
What Constitutes a DWI in Texas?
In Texas, drivers are guilty of driving while intoxicated (DWI) when they operate a motor vehicle while possessing a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more or while intoxicated by drugs or alcohol. It is also possible to be charged with a DWI if you were not actually driving. Texas law defines DWI as "operating" a vehicle while intoxicated. “Operating” is a broad term that includes any action that affects the functioning of a vehicle in a manner that "enables its use.”
Penalties for Multiple Offenses
The penalties for a DWI offense in Texas will depend on a variety of factors, including the BAC level and the number of prior convictions.
- Second offense: 30 days to 12 months in jail; up to $4,000 in fines; 180 days to two years of license suspension; one year of ignition interlock device (IID) use if the accused had a prior conviction within five years
- Third offense: Two to 10 years in jail; up to $10,000 in fines; 180 days to two years of license suspension; one year of IID use if the accused had a prior conviction within five years
Implied Consent in Texas
Like many other states, Texas also implements an “implied consent” law that requires all drivers lawfully arrested for a DWI to submit to a blood or breath test. If you refuse testing, you could face two years of license suspension for a second or third refusal within 10 years. Failing a BAC test (the BAC was shown to be .08% or greater) will also warrant the same penalties of license suspension.
DWI is a serious criminal offense that could temporarily limit your driving privileges. While judges may be more understanding for a first-offense DWI, they will likely be strict for multiple offenses. The law specifies what counts as a prior conviction within a certain number of years, though, so it is worthwhile to hire a defense lawyer who has extensive experience dealing with multiple DWIs.
Lanzillo Law, PLLC can take a deeper look at your situation to help you determine your legal options as a multiple DWI offender. Whether Attorney Lanzillo argues that a prior conviction was far back in the past and shouldn’t count as a previous offense or can otherwise argue for reduced penalties despite your priors, you have several possible defense options.
Schedule a free consultation with Lanzillo Law, PLLC to discuss your case in more detail.